Created on 10 March 2020

Within the EPER (Effective Partnership for Enhanced Recognition) project, in Zagreb, Republic of Croatia, on 17 February 2020 the workshop Development of the Guide for the Implementation of Council of Europe’s Recommendations on Recognition of Qualifications Held by Refugees was held. Representatives of the the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic Croatia as well as ENIC/NARIC centre of Croatia as the leader of the Project, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro and North Macedonia as well as public universities in Croatia attended the workshop.

EPER Zagreb Refugees 2 17 02 2020-minRepresentative of the Norwegian Agency for Quality Assurance in Education (NOKUT) that is Head of Section for Recognition of Refugees' Qualifications presented the Norwegian experience concerning recognition of qualifications of refugees, displaced persons and persons in a refugee-like situation as specified in Article VII of the Lisbon Recognition Convention. The European Qualifications Passport for Refugees was also presented, providing an assessment of higher education qualification based on available documentation and a structured interview. This is just a prescreening of the education obtained which might help holders of such passport for an access to the labor market or further education. It is valid 3 years because it is expected that in that period the refugees will change their status.

EPER Zagreb Refugees 17 02 2020-minDuring a discussion on challenges in the EPER partner countries and possible action at the national level, it was highlighted that countries should establish recognition procedures for refugees while just Bosnia and Herzegovina already have them in place. The representatives of the Centre for Information and Recognition of Qualifications in Higher Education of Bosnia and Herzegovina presented best practices during a session for issuing the European Qualifications Passport for Refugees in Palermo, in July 2019.

The next workshop will be held also in Croatia in March 2020, and will be dedicated to academic recognition procedures.